| Un fin de semana en la nieve |

Two weekends ago, I ventured through the mountains with the Chanferoni’s to a small (but beautiful) ski lodge right on the border of Chile and Argentina. Penitentes, Mendoza to be exact. And man was it beautiful.

The drive from the city of Mendoza to Penitentes was picturesque; the road was windy and smooth, taking us through tunnels and alongside crystalline lakes. I daydreamed of living in each valley we passed, far from the noise of civilization, in the refuge of las montañas…

After a 2.5 hour journey, we arrived at Penitentes, tired and eager to stretch our legs. The day was coming to an end and we were relieved to finally get settled for the weekend. We were staying in an apartment right on the slopes for the weekend, so we only needed to take a few steps outside to be in ski territory.

The next morning, I peered out the window and saw this:

Screen shot 2015-08-17 at 10.33.06 PM

The sun was so beautiful! Peering out of the mountains like that. I was already smitten and I was still in my pajamas.

After putting on our boots and lugging our skis out of our building, we arrived here:

Screen shot 2015-08-17 at 10.34.32 PM

The view of the mountains untouched and the sun beginning its ascent in the sky was enough to allow me to block out all other distractions and worries; “Today I’m spending the day in a snow globe,” I thought to myself as I hastily propelled myself into line for my first slope of the day. (and my first slope since almost 4 years ago….)

At times I fell…

Screen shot 2015-08-17 at 10.41.10 PM

But at other times I flew…

Screen shot 2015-08-17 at 11.05.38 PM

My favorite run was one we had to take a chair lift up to. As I rode to the top of the mountain with Inés, my heart raced; we were so high in the sky! I instantly thought of my mother and how much she would have hated being in that aerosilla…(she hates heights).

DCIM100GOPRO
View from the chairlift.//Vista de la aerosilla.
Inés and I in the aerosilla.
Inés and I in the chair lift.//Inés y yo en la aerosilla.

Once you reach the top of the lift, you quickly glide off onto a smooth run at a gentle slope, just quick enough to make you feel like you’re flying but gentle and smooth enough to remind you that yes, you are indeed in control here. (<–this is something I had to keep reminding myself of so as to not freak out and ski off a cliff or something….)

The run took us along the edges of the mountain. It was gorgeous and relaxing. It was thrilling to see our ski lodge below us, how small it had become since we had summited the mountains just moments before.

Our ski lodge is to the left...like a tiny village from way up high on the mountain!
Our ski lodge is to the left…like a tiny village from way up high on the mountain!//Nuestro estacion de esqui a la izquierda…es como un pueblito desde lo alto de la montana!

I enjoyed watching the Chanferoni’s effortlessly glide down the slopes. Agos and Inés made it look so easy! And Jorge and Maria Andrea were so graceful.

Agos skiing down the mountain like a badass.
Agos skiing down the mountain like a badass.

Finally, at the end of the day, we enjoyed dinner and a few games of Burako before sleeping like babies. And even though the next morning I could barely lift my backpack or raise my arms, I couldn’t have asked for a better weekend skiing in the mountains.

Jorge and Maria Andrea relaxing during mid-day.//Jorge y Maria Andrea relajando durante el mediodia.
Jorge and Maria Andrea relaxing during mid-day.//Jorge y Maria Andrea relajando durante el mediodia.
Agos, Inés and I!
Agos, Inés and I!

Mil gracias a Jorge, Maria Andrea, Agos y Inés por un finde increible! Los amo!

Leave a Reply

